#ThirtyThings

If you’ve been following me on Facebook or Instagram, you’ve been privy to my #ThirtyThings throughout the month of September. For those who haven’t, here are 30 facts you may or may not know about me:

1. I used this photo of my myself to create the very first cover mock-up for the 1st edition of Queer Greer.

2. I have been a Hanson addict since Middle of Nowhere came out in the late 90s. Meeting them with my cousin after one of their NYC concerts about 5 years ago was a highlight of my life!

3. This is the very first book I ever wrote as a fourth grader! Jordie and the Manatees – illustrations by yours truly as well!

4. I have two cats, Prince Oberyn Martell the Red Viper of Dorne and Puck, both literarily named!

5. Ever since I was a child I’ve loved Full House! It’s my goal in life to see all the cast in person. Thus far I’ve seen John Stamos play drums with the Beach Boys; Dave Coulier perform standup twice; Bob Saget perform standup once; Jodie Sweetin at UCB in LA; and Lori Loughlin multiple times at a favorite eatery in Beverly Hills. Now where are those Olsen twins?

6. This is my one tattoo thus far, located on the inside of my left wrist. For me it stands for peace within and is symbolic of the trials I’ve endured, both self-inflicted and not, throughout the years.

7. Meeting author Ian McEwan as an undergrad was an experience I’ll never forget. He had on these laced up brown leather boots with so much personality, I told him there had to be a story in them. He replied, “And you’re just the person to write it.” One of these days…

8. I was a United Nations correspondent for a year, reporting on stories out of the least developed countries. I saw some incredible world leaders speak while I was there, including the Clintons and Gore, and President Obama.

9. That time I went to a college dance in drag. I’m in the hat.

10. I’m officially official as an agented author — my headshot and bio went up on the Inklings Literary Agency site this week!

11. This was my senior thesis in college. The Well of Loneliness by Radclyffe Hall is considered one of the first lesbian texts, but I sought to prove its really a trans* text and Orlando by Virginia Woolf (published the same year) is really a lesbian text instead of trans*.

12. That time I met one of my writing role models, Jodi Picoult! This woman is incredible — I’ve emailed her several times with writing questions and she usually responds within an hour!

13. I’m training to tone up because my wedding is in less than two months! I’ve also discovered that exercise is the best anti-anxiety medication there is.

14. I helped spear-head the Fight to Give Life campaign with my college GSA; we mobilized students across the country to protest the antiquated FDA ban on blood donation from men who have sex with men (and women who have sex with men who have sex with men) by taking petitions to their local blood banks on 04/05/06. We got enough attention that members of the FDA invited us along with blood bank reps to a meeting to discuss the policy a month later.

15. I’m back on the East Coast right now where I was born and raised. I’m a New Englander at heart and I really miss the seasons!

16. I played ice hockey as a kid! I played defense and became one of the team captains for my high school varsity team my senior year.

17. Did you know I have a collection of poetry and short stories up on @Goodreads right now?

18. I’ve been to several protests in my life in NY and DC, all against war. Freedom of speech is a wonderful thing.

19. My senior year of college I participated in the Birthright program, going to Israel for 10 days. The experience was incredible and I hope to make it back again some day.

20. As a middle schooler, I became obsessed with The X-Files. I was a total shipper, wanting Mulder and Scully to end up together. Love this show!

21. I’ve donated my hair to Locks of Love three times. I hope to do it again some day soon.

22. In July of 2011, I went to a maximum security prison in Texas to visit a woman I’ve been writing to since 2009. Her case is currently being investigated by The Innocence Project of Texas and I’ve written a book based on her life.

23. A year ago today I was at the first bisexual roundtable at the White House — the best Celebrate Bisexuality Day ever!

24. That time Dan Savage quoted me in his book! All publicity is good publicity, right?

25. Just one week after graduating from college I was headed to Malawi with the U.S. Peace Corps. My experience was mixed, as many who’ve read my book Vuto know.

26. Potentially polarizing, but I have been a Yankees fan my whole life, no matter where I’ve lived at any given time. I grew up with Derek Jeter and I can’t believe I won’t ever see him play again!

27. I love to travel! I want to see as much of the world as possible in my lifetime. Places I’ve been thus far include Amsterdam, Aruba, Austria, Bahamas, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Liechtenstein, Malawi, Mexico, Poland, Switzerland, and Turks and Caicos.

28. I love to get crafty! One craft I’ve been doing for nearly 15 years is making collages on poster board, as well as collages on small wooden boxes with decoupage. I often have themes, especially when I make the boxes as gifts for friends, picking up on their personality and hobbies.

29. That time I got to interview both Zac and Taylor Hanson for a United Nations piece on their charity work in Africa — and it was on the Hanson website!

30. My very first book signing and talk was for my book, Choice, at the Trumbull Public Library in Connecticut. Around the same time I saw my book sold in Barnes & Noble — I was starting to feel like I could really do this; I could be a professional author. Now, I’m really on my way.

Thanks for sticking around to learn #ThirtyThings about me this month!

Leave a comment

Filed under General Updates

Leave a Reply

