Shattered Souls by Daniele Lanzarotta Blog Tour: Character Interview

Welcome to a special post. Today, author Daniele Lanzarotta has provided us with an interview with her character, Travis, from her newest book, Shattered Souls.

Take note: this interview is part of a blog tour and there are giveaway items to be had! Comment at the end of this blog post for a chance to win one of the following: a Shattered Souls poster, a signed bookmark or a signed paperback copy of the book itself. All giveaways are US and international, ending on May 31. Winners will be announced on June 1.

Shattered Souls synopsis: It has been 30 years since Lexi made her choice. With time, many things have changed, but others… never will. As her past comes back to haunt her, one vampire is destroyed, and Lexi is the one blamed for his true death. She is now being hunted by her own kind, and as much as Nicholas tries to protect her on his own, that is not enough. He needs help, and he values her far too much to ask for help from just anyone. They encounter ghosts of their pasts, face their worst fears, and above all, heartbreaks strong enough to shatter souls beyond repair.

INTERVIEW WITH TRAVIS OF SHATTERED SOULS and the IMPRINTED SOULS SERIES

Alison: Hello Travis and welcome. It’s great to have you here to answer some questions from your fans. Our first question for you is how did you and Lexi meet and become so close?

Travis: Hi Alison. Thanks for having me. I met Lexi when we were in high school. I was sort of new in town. I was actually working that night, and then I saw her in the deserted parking lot and went to see if everything was okay. I guess you could say that we just hit it off. One thing led to another… every time we talked and everything that happened from that point on, just brought us closer together.

Alison: Any piercings or tattoos with some good stories behind how you got them?

Travis: *laughs * I have one tattoo with one crazy story! The tattoo is a five-pointed star on my back, which is meant for protection. I actually got it when I was 15 or 16. My mom was so mad, but it was a weird family tradition. Everyone on my dad’s side of the family has it. I thought it was silly at the time, but I later found that it wasn’t silly at all. 

Alison: We know that you have ancestors that have had a certain history with vampires. What has your personal experience with vampires been like in the past and how has it affected you?

Travis: Even though I have an ancestor who is a vampire, I didn’t even know they existed until after I started to hang out with Lexi. I love her to death, but she attracts trouble like no one I’ve ever met. Even in high school, she spent more time with vampires than humans, so it was only a matter of time before I found out. My personal experience is that most of them are trouble, but then there are the few who I got close to. The bad thing is that you cannot surround yourself with the good without attracting the bad ones.

Alison: You’ve had trouble in relationships due to your family vampire history, haven’t you? Can you talk about how vampires and your knowledge of the world have caused trouble for you romantically?

Travis: Eventually, I realized that even though the tattoo protected me, the ones I got in a relationship with were always at risk. Once I got attached to someone, I would get worried about their well-being and let them go.

Alison: How have your family and friends dealt with your sexuality?

Travis: I never hid who I was. I am who I am and I always felt that people could either deal with it or move on. For several years, in high school especially, my parents were in denial. I’m not going to say it wasn’t hurtful, but after a while it was funny to watch Mom try to push Lexi into my bedroom.

School was tough. I had just started dating someone openly and then, next thing I knew, my family was moving. Even after the move, I didn’t hide who I was. Being on the swim team, the guys felt weird around me, so I didn’t even bother making new friends until I met Lexi.

Alison: Do you have any words of encouragement for others who have had trouble coming to terms with their sexuality or come across negativity when they’ve come out?

Travis: I know it is easier said than done, but stay true to yourself. The ones who really matter will be there for you… even if it takes them a little time to adjust, which was the case with my parents. It is one of those situations where you’ll learn who your true friends are. Just remember that there is always someone out there that you can talk to. For me, that person was Lexi.

Alison: Does being in a world of vampires change the way you are perceived or the way you perceive yourself?

Travis: In a way, it does. I guess I feel more comfortable in their world… more accepted. I believe because most vampires have been around for so long, they view things in a different way. The challenges that I encountered with humans in relation to my sexuality were never once an issue with any of the vampires I ever met. It’s weird to think that some humans can be crueler than the vampires who they believe to be monsters.

Alison: Well, Travis, I just wanted to say thank you for being here with us today. This has been a great interview and I’m sure readers can’t wait to see what you’re up to in Shattered Souls.

Iss

Daniele Lanzarotta is the author of YA paranormal novels, including the Imprinted Souls Series and Academy of the Fallen.

She has a Bachelor’s in business and finance and a MBA. With only a few semesters left in school, Daniele started writing as a hobby, but it didn’t take long for her to be consumed by her stories. That is her passion, and she now has several projects under way.

She enjoys reading and writing young adult novels with just about any sort of paranormal or supernatural bent…vampires… ghosts… She also enjoys watching hockey, playing rock band, guitar hero and spending time with the family.

Follow Daniele on Twitter @DaniLanzarotta!

1 Comment

Filed under Guest Blogs, Writing

One response to “Shattered Souls by Daniele Lanzarotta Blog Tour: Character Interview

  1. Loved reading this! Thanks! Good luck to all those who enter the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

