Finding My Place

If I am being completely honest with myself, the last time I felt completely, 100% ME was in college when I was a leader in Dickinson College’s Gay-Straight Alliance, Spectrum; heavily involved in social justice; speaking out for myself and those in the sexual minority. I haven’t felt truly fulfilled since then, except in my writing, especially when I was writing and editing Queer Greer; or speaking about Queer Greer at last year’s True Colors Conference at UCONN.

I now feel like I’m coming to a point in my life, professionally, where I have to decide how I can find that fulfillment again to be completely happy – or at least as happy as I was those several years ago in Spectrum.

I only recently started a new job in Arizona where I do feel like helping others is the end result of my role. I’m now in the skincare industry – a place I never would have thought I would be. I am passionate about helping people, but I’m now questioning whether this is the right field for me. I keep going back to social justice. I think that is where my skills and passion will matter most and be best utilized.

Most of you know that I have been attempting to fulfill my belief in justice through my correspondence with an inmate in Texas; a woman by the name of Elizabeth Burke whom I believe to be innocent through three years of letter writing and personal research. I haven’t been able to dedicate the time needed to help her get a retrial in a while, which weighs on me. It’s unlikely I will ever be able to fully focus on her and her innocence with the financial needs of today – working full-time – along with my other writing projects. However, knowing how much this pet project means to me makes me feel like searching for a job more related to justice should be my next pursuit.

Anyway, those are my thoughts today! I needed to share! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Elizabeth Burke, General Updates, LGBT, Social Justice

Leave a Reply

