My First Blog

Within the first entry of my first blog, entitled Peaceful Ponderings back in October 2007, I explain who I am, my politics and my beliefs. It is quite interesting looking back on my words just four mere years ago and reflect upon the similarities and differences of today:

I am a Peacemonger, let’s get that out firsthand. I do not think war is ever the answer. I am an extreme leftist, as liberal as they come; in my politics, my education, my beliefs, my sexuality…virtually every facet of my life. I think the administration of this country has been going downhill for awhile now, and I am skeptical that the next will be much better. In the words of Mr. Constanza, “I have a lot of problems with you people!” I know I’m not alone.An Indian HijraAn Indian Hijra

I don’t want you to think this is just going to be another blog shouting a liberal diatribe criticizing my country, conservatives, fundamentalists, and all that shit. Who needs another one of those? There are many more interests to get all hyped up about.

For instance, I just recently rented a film called “Middle Sexes: Redefining He and She.” I found this documentary to be particularly informative because it really gets across the spectrum not only of sexuality, but of gender as well. In western society, especially America, most people are constricted by this man-made binary of man and woman, male and female, heterosexual and homosexual. What most people need to realize is that there are so many more variations. Just think about the people you know. Women and men perform – yes, perform – gender in a plethora of ways. I’d even venture to say that there are just as many gender types as there are people on earth. Women wear their hair long, short, buzzed; they dress in pants, skirts, shorts, dresses; they do or they don’t wear make-up and those who do wear varying degrees of it; there are women who love men, who love women, who love genderqueers, who love intersexed; women who ARE genderqueers and intersexed. The same holds true for men. I could go on, but I think you get the idea. 

I will admit, I have become more jaded with the world-at-large since 2007. While I still consider myself a “peacemonger,” I have also spent time in the Peace Corps and worked as a correspondent at the United Nations; both experiences made me realize how little gets accomplished with “peace politics.” I still don’t consider war the answer in any conflict, however I realize peace is not always a solution. The Middle East for instance – I don’t see an end to the wars there as long as religion is still present and strong.

While I have been in a relationship with a man for a couple of years now, I am still an outspoken bisexual woman with qualms in terms of sex and gender education in the U.S. and worldwide.

Share your own changes over time in the comments section below!

Leave a comment

Filed under Gender, General Updates, LGBT, Politics

Leave a Reply

