Pant Size Says What?

Pants shopping. For some it can be a harrowing experience. In the culture we live in today, we are told to be any higher than, what? A size 4? And you should have low self-esteem and be trying your hardest to slim down to fit into those skimpy jeans. The funny thing is – I fit into anywhere from a size 4 to a size 10…

AND THAT IS JUST IN ONE STORE!

I have several pairs of jeans from American Eagle Outfitters. Generally, in most pants, I am a size 6 to an 8. I kid you not when I tell you I went into that store and picked up a size 6 pair of jeans to try on. They were huge on me – could have been a size 14 in any other store. I went back to get the size 4 – still big! When I went back out to the floor to – GASP – snatch a size 2?! from the rack, I could barely believe it.

The size 2 actually fit and all I could think was, are they now making sizes in negative numbers? If I’m a 2, Mary-Kate Olsen would have to be -10. Seriously.

I can’t speak for men’s pants here, but what’s happening, ladies? Why is self-esteem so wrapped up in a number than we have to kid ourselves by sizing everything down. When I take off my size 8 jeans from the GAP and put on my size 2 American Eagle jeans, I haven’t lost any weight. I haven’t gotten thinner or more fit. These stores and clothing lines are simply playing a joke on us, playing to our body issues to try to sell more of their clothing.

What this all boils down to is the way we perceive ourselves and how our society negatively affects that image. We don’t need false sizing to tell us we look and feel good about ourselves. We need to celebrate the people we are, in all shapes and sizes, and take care of ourselves in the healthiest ways possible. Here’s to diversity and health!

Leave a comment

Filed under Social Justice, Women

Leave a Reply

